Mobility should not stop at EU borders

JEF for a Visa-Free Europe

, by JEF Europe

Mobility should not stop at EU borders

The Young European Federalists (JEF-Europe) want to recall that Citizens of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Moldova, Ukraine and Turkey still need to go through an often long, expensive and uncertain visa application procedure to enter the EU despite the close relations on political, economic, social, cultural and diplomatic level. JEF-Europe will therefore hold its annual No-Visa action this week under the slogan “Mobility should not stop at the borders of the EU”.

”The visa requirement effectively prevents many young Europeans from travelling. This policy creates an isolated generation of young people who can only rarely visit countries from the Schengen zone, and yet, ironically, are supposed to bring about changes in their own societies and prepare them for joining the EU”, stresses Philippe Adriaenssens, President of JEF-Europe.

Since 19 December 2009, only people from Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia can finally move freely across European borders but still too many other young Europeans are stuck behind these unnatural barriers.

Adriaenssens explains:“As a pan-European NGO organising international events with participants from the entire continent, we are permanently confronted with young people who have to worry about the costs and the outcome of the visa application procedure. How are these young people then supposed to experience Europe and promote European values at home?”

The liberalisation of visa is essential to enhance regional stability and integration and foster economic and social prosperity.

The liberalisation of visa is essential to enhance regional stability and integration and foster economic and social prosperity because it will contribute to better cooperation between administrations and police services on the one hand and improve the business climate and educational exchanges on the other.

"While the governments of the countries in question need to do their utmost to fulfill the necessary technical criteria, it is on the EU institutions to assist them in meeting these criteria and meanwhile lessen the costs and administrative burden of the visa application procedure“ adds Adriaenssens.

Consequently, JEF will continue campaigning to show its support for the remaining countries subject to the Schengen visa requirements until also their Citizens have obtained the right to uncomplicated, visa-free travel in Europe. JEF will also make sure that the EU does not forget about the young Europeans in other countries who still remain behind the visa curtain.

JEF will organise its annual No-Visa Action this week to raise awareness about the obstacles that visas bring about and calls for the unification of the European continent through the abolishment of national borders for all Europeans.

Your comments
  • On 30 September 2010 at 14:30, by Amana Ferro Replying to: What about the other European countries?

    I fully support this initiative and I have done my best to promote it on Facebook as well.

    But why only Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Moldova, Ukraine and Turkey?

    What about Montenegro? Macedonia? Croatia? Belarus? Georgia? Armenia? Azerbaijan?

    Thanks for letting me know.

Your comments

Warning, your message will only be displayed after it has been checked and approved.

Who are you?

To show your avatar with your message, register it first on (free et painless) and don’t forget to indicate your Email addresse here.

Enter your comment here

This form accepts SPIP shortcuts {{bold}} {italic} -*list [text->url] <quote> <code> and HTML code <q> <del> <ins>. To create paragraphs, just leave empty lines.

Follow the comments: RSS 2.0 | Atom